Our History


Woodlupine Primary School welcomed its first students at the start of the 1977 school year with Principal Mr John Harrison at the helm. The school began with students in pre-primary and years 1 to 4 and the enrolment that year grew to more than 340. At that time the first phase of the building project was complete and the second phase commenced soon after.


In 1978, year 5 was added and Mr Jim Varnavides took over as Principal. At the completion of building works, the school was officially opened by Hon. P.V. Jones MLA, Minister of Education on 20 October 1978.


Years 6 and 7 were added in 1979 and 1980 as the school population grew to more than 800 students.


In 1980, Woodlupine was divided into two schools with separate administrations on shared grounds. Woodlupine Early Childhood Unit, with Principal Mrs G Detuik, catered for kindy, pre-primary and years 1 and 2, while Woodlupine Primary School catered for years 3 to 7.


The two school sharing arrangement continued for over 20 years until the decision was made to amalgamate into one school in 2003.


Woodlupine Primary School is located in Forrestfield and caters for students in Kindergarten to Year 6. Woodlupine Primary School derives its name from Woodlupine Creek which was named by colonial British settlers in recognition of the heavily treed woods and an abundance of lupin flowers.


Our logo is based on the spiritual totem of the Noongar people of the Darling Scarp - the echidna


© Copyright 2020 Woodlupine Primary School